Call Us

What Are Dangerous Goods?

Austrans Logistics does not accept dangerous goods on any Domestic or International services.

If you have an International shipment please also review the additional category of International Prohibited Goods.

To assist you identify any risks associated with your shipment, please read the following information about dangerous goods.

Dangerous goods are classified into nine hazard classes by the UN (United Nations) as noted in the table below and reflected in the IATA Dangerous Good Regulations.

Dangerous goods are substances or articles with hazardous properties which, if not handled correctly, may:

  • - 1. Explode
  • - 2. Asphyxiate
  • - 3. Burn
  • - 4. Poison
  • - 5. Corrode skin or metals
  • - 4. Poison
  • - 6. Pollute the environment
  • - 7. Become unstable with other products

Depending on its properties, each type of dangerous good is assigned a UN (United Nations) number and also a particular class number.

Contact us if you are unsure about the contents of your shipment or want to review customized distribution needs. The National Transport Commission's Dangerous Goods Code provides a detailed reference to Australia's transport code for dangerous goods.

Dangerous Goods Classes

UN Class Dangerous Goods Division(s) Classification
1 Explosives 1.1 - 1.6 Explosive
2 Gases 2.1 Flammable gas
2.2 Non-flammable, non-toxic gas
2.3 Toxic gas
3 Flammable liquid Flammable liquid
4 Flammable solids 4.1 Flammable solid
4.2 Spontaneously combustible substance
4.3 Substance which in contact with water emits flammable gas
5 Oxidising substances 5.1 Oxidising substance
5.2 Organic peroxide
6 Oxidising substances 6.1 Toxic substance
6.2 Infectious substance
7 Radioactive material Radioactive material
8 Corrosive substances Corrosive substance
9 Miscellaneous dangerous goods Miscellaneous dangerous goods